Stacks of Newsletters

News from the Bar


Awards  |   Courts    |   Leadership   |   Pro Bono    |   Public Comment    |   Rule Changes    |   Volunteer

Clear News Filter


Eugene Elliott and Lisa Wilson Receive Chambers Award for Bar Service

Posted on 3/27/2024
Eugene M. Elliott Jr. of Roanoke, and Lisa A. Wilson of Alexandria are the co-recipients of the 2024 Edward L. Chambers Jr. Lifetime Bar Service Award.


B. Keith Faulkner Receives 2024 Leadership in Education Award

Posted on 3/13/2024
B. Keith Faulkner, president of Charleston Southern University in South Carolina, has been named this year’s recipient of the William R. Rakes Leadership in Education Award by the Virginia State Bar Section on the Education of Lawyers in Virginia.


James L. Windsor Receives 2024 Traver Award

Posted on 3/12/2024
The VSB Real Property Section and Virginia CLE have named James L. Windsor as the recipient of the 2024 Traver Award, given each year to honor a lawyer who embodies the highest ideals in the practice of real estate law.


Charles E. Powers Receives Family Law Service Award

Posted on 3/8/2024
Charles E. Powers, a shareholder in the Richmond firm of Stiles Ewing Powers PC, has been awarded the Family Law Service Award by the Virginia State Bar Family Law Section Board of Governors.


James Cottrell Receives the 2024 Lifetime Achievement Award

Posted on 3/8/2024
James Ray Cottrell, founder of Cottrell Fletcher Cottrell PC in Alexandria has been awarded the Virginia State Bar Family Law Section’s highest accolade, the Betty Ann Thompson Lifetime Achievement Award.


VSB Seeks Nominations for Annual Wellness Award

Posted on 2/14/2024
If you are a member of the Virginia State Bar and have demonstrated a devotion to wellness and well-being, consider nominating yourself, your colleague, or your group for the Award for Excellence in Wellness and Well-Being in the Legal Profession.


Howard E. Gwynn to Receive the 2024 Harry L. Carrico Professionalism Award

Posted on 1/25/2024
Howard E. Gwynn, Commonwealth’s Attorney for the City of Newport News, has been named the recipient of the Harry L. Carrico Professionalism Award by the Virginia State Bar Criminal Law Section.


Bill Shmidheiser Receives 2023 Powell Pro Bono Award

Posted on 10/13/2023
William E. “Bill” Shmidheiser III of Harrisonburg, who recently retired from Flora Pettit, has been named the 2023 Lewis F. Powell, Jr. Pro Bono Award recipient.


Alicia Penn Receives 2023 Young Lawyer of the Year Award

Posted on 6/13/2023
Alicia M. Penn has been awarded the 2023 R. Edwin Burnette Jr. Young Lawyer of the Year Award by the Virginia State Bar’s Young Lawyers Conference (YLC).


Sherry A. Fox Awarded 2023 Specialty Bar Leader of the Year

Posted on 6/9/2023
Sherry A. Fox of Fox Family Formation in Glen Allen has been awarded Specialty Bar Leader of the Year by the VSB Conference of Local and Specialty Bar Associations (CLSBA).

Looking for news about something specific?